2015 YTOY Competition Report

The 2015 competition was held in November on the fine ex-Regal Kingston-Upon-Thames 3/12 Wurlitzer at The Musical Museum, Kew Bridge We would like to express our thanks to all at the museum for their wonderful enthusiasm, support and hospitality.

Chapter Trustee Michael Wooldridge, himself a former winner, organised the event for the second year running.  Sadly, two of the entrants were forced to step down in the last few days before the event but we were fortunate to still have six very strong competitors performing fabulously on the day, giving the large audience a very entertaining afternoon of excellent music; we must say thank you for the music to entrants Lucy Crouch, Robert Eldridge, Jamyma-May Hanson, Daniel Lane, Declan Poole and Lewis Scott.

Congratulations to the winner, Declan Poole and to runners-up, Jamyma-May Hanson and Lewis Scott.   The judges awarded the Christie Cup for the player showing most potential for the future to Robert Eldridge, a young man relatively new to the organ scene but already demonstrating huge promise and great musicality.  Following receipt of written submissions from last year’s entrants about their musical activities since appearing last year, the committee awarded the Dean Herrick Memorial Trophy to Lewis Scott, as not only has he been working hard to improve his performance standard but he has also been very active in presenting the organ to the general public, including playing for a pantomime, for charity dances and in rest homes.

Last years winner, Thomas Pickering, showed what a fine player he is by performing an interlude at the Wurlitzer, and then Holly Eldridge, entrant Robert Eldridge's sister, entertained us with a beautiful Christmas item at the Steinway grand piano.

To see more photos of the 2015 event pictures please go to the Photo Gallery.

Further details of the competition may be found on our YTOY page.

If you would like to make a contribution to help towards the costs of running this important event, please contact our treasurer Keith Reeve at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..